Myths, Lies, and Half-Truths New Cover Art

The final cover

I create cover art every now and then. I like the creative. I could do without producing creative for others. : ) I like every mockup I create just about. For each book cover I work on I mockup at least 5 unique covers. Inevitably, the authors choose my second or third favorite of the lot. For once, I wish my preferred mockups would be chosen. Maybe one of these days….

The cover that was chosen was inspired by some new book covers I’ve seen at Barnes & Noble in the past year. Maybe the next time you’re browsing a book store, you’ll recognize a cover or two that also have a torn cover effect.

Here’s the latest. It is an honor to redesign this cover. The original was by Brian Godawa, whom I respect as one of the great artist minds of our day. The following are the other mockups I created:

i

Mockup 2 is the one that was chosen (obviously) and I honed it from there to what you see at the top of this post. I prefer to have inspiration from other covers already on the market so that I have assurance the cover is not off the beaten path. At the same time, I always make sure the cover is original—I don’t rip other designer’s off.

Which do you like most?

I’d love to get your subjective opinion. I liked #4 most for it’s sale-ability. Aesthetically, #1 is my favorite. But what do you like? Leave a comment below.

Update January 18, 2010

The book with the new cover is now available at the American Vision online store.

4 thoughts on “Myths, Lies, and Half-Truths New Cover Art

  1. Pingback: Before and After Representations of Beauty « Joseph Darnell's Blog

  2. I think the final is definitely the best. It’s appealing. It has dimension without being too busy. The color aesthetics also support the idea behind the title.

  3. I like Mockup 1 best. My favorite colors, and a great font. But I like the second one as well, and echo your brother’s sentiments.
    -Breezy

  4. Welcome to the blog, Breezy.

    I always thought there was something to be said for Mockup 1. I know it’s highly abstract, but it conveys something has been made muddled and mirky, but that that the truth can still be brought to light. It also plays up on colors that were inspired by the word “Myths” in the title. I thought the colors were suitable for “myths.”

Comments are closed.