How to Customize Your Dock’s Appearance

LeopardDocks.com has an awfully simple yet powerful app that lets you customize the look of your dock. Don’t judge their website by its appearance—I’ve used it for a month now, and I’m pleased to say, for freeware that does just one thing, it’s one of the most satisfying apps I’ve ever used. From what I have read, it appears LeopardDocks App works on Mac OS Leopard, Snow Leopard, and Lion.

Here’s what my dock looks like by default:

(Click image to enlarge)

Here’s how my dock looks with LeopardDocks at work:

(Click image to enlarge)

You don’t have to run the app to make it change your dock’s appearance continuously. Once you customize the dock with the app it stays that way, so you can quit the app, restart the computer, and the appearance will stay customized. If you ever want to revert to the original look and layout of the dock, there’s a reset button in the app, and it hasn’t failed me yet.

You also should notice there are spaces in the customized dock image above. Those are added using LeopardDocks App. It’s easy to group the apps as I want to see related apps for specific workflows.

Once you have installed the app, to get the custom styles imagery, download those from the website also.

One other thing: you probably can see that several of my apps have customized icons. This is very easy to do, if you know how. I made some of the custom icons myself with Photoshop, and others I got from IconFactory.com. They have terrific free custom icons, and if customizing your icons from scratch is not your thing, you can use their app called CandyBar to handle a lot of the changes for you automatically. I think this is one of the coolest apps of all time.

